NaNoWriMo


Oh, heck.

A month or so ago, I saw a tweet from @Yorkshiregirl asking if anyone was taking part in NaNoWriMo this year. I tweeted back to ask what the heck it was…

For most of you, I’m guessing I don’t need to explain. Here’s the link: NaNoWriMo.

 

When I was little, I used to read the Garden Gang books. I discovered that the author of these books had been just twelve years old and  think I was about eight when I told my mum I would write a book before I was that age. The intention has always been there. Notebook after notebook has always been filled with stories, conversations, story ideas…

At university I took a Creative Writing course, where I met the fabulous @Minty_b. I loved those sessions and I graduated with a renewed love for writing and an even newer appreciation for the theatre. I wanted to write more than anything… so I got a job in an office.

You know how life gets in the way? Yeah, that. I met my husband, we had our daughter and I decided to go into teaching. I never left my writing behind, I just found less and less time in which to do it. Instead, I was teaching and helping children to write- the next best thing?

My son’s birth was my turning point, and the reason I started this blog. And there you have it. I remembered that old feeling of being unable to sleep because  a plot idea was running through my head. I remembered the security of having a notebook to hand at all times, day and night, to jot down words, ideas and thoughts. I remembered what it was like to be me.

So, NaNoWriMo. I’m going to do it. I’m deadly serious. For all the books I started and never finished, for the frustrations of my mum who used to sit for hours, reading them and never finding an ending… for me.

For that extra kick up the butt, I decided to ask for sponsorship. I am now 24% of the way towards my target of £200 in honour of the Birth Trauma Association. Thank you so much to those of you that have sponsored me so far. Your money will make sure that I finish this book and will help other women like me, who have suffered a traumatic birth. Your money is so precious and so gratefully received. Thank you.

If you haven’t yet donated, here is my Just Giving Page:

http://www.justgiving.com/Susanne-Remic

You can also text £1 to the cause by texting YLGH51 £1 to 70070.

Here is my nifty button, which will take you straight to my site. Anything else? Oh, yes. Please share my page. Please get as many people as possible to sponsor me for this cause. The end result will be so much more than a book.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!


4 responses to “NaNoWriMo

Leave a comment