I AM a real person

Hello. My name is Isobel. I am a newborn. I am a real person. How do I know this?

I have a name. I have a date of birth. I have an NHS number. I will soon have a birth certificate. I am loved. I have a family. I have a personality. I have a nickname. I even have a theme tune because Mummy loves to make up songs to make my brother laugh.

I have a beating heart and a ticking brain. I have a growing body and a lifetime ahead of me- to learn, to read, to watch, to listen. I have friends to make, books to read, pictures to colour, places to visit, jokes to laugh at, songs to sing, teddies to cuddle, journeys to make, tears to cry. I have a life ahead of me. You can’t take that away from me.

I was a person from the moment I was born, perhaps even before then. I have always been Isobel. You can’t take that away from me.

I have a brother and a sister. I have five aunties and lots of cousins. I have an identity.

You can’t take that away from me.

7 responses to “I AM a real person

Leave a Reply

