#dosomethingyummy I am a survivor

So its the final week of Clic Sargent’s Yummy Mummy writing prompts, in preparation for the Yummy Mummy week coming up in March. I am truly honoured to have been asked to form part of the group of head mums for this campaign. That’s why I have emerged from my newborn baby bubble to take part this week. Huge apologies for missing last week’s prompt- I guess I can be excused , seeing as I was in the hospital 😉

So this week, the writing prompts are:

  1. Personal post.  Tell us your story of survival.  What did you overcome?
  2. Yummy post.  Do you know someone who has had cancer and survived?
  3. Creative writing.  Get your kids involved again – give them the prompt word “Survivor” and ask them to draw a picture or write a story and post up the results.

I have chosen the first prompt and I hope that some of you can understand my reasons for this. Whilst I would love to write of the survival of a certain little boy who is currently in recovery from Leukaemia, I cannot- his story is not mine to tell. Whilst I would love to write of the survival of my Auntie following her son’s death, or the more recent passing of her husband- again, I cannot. These are situations that I cannot personally understand and for that I am truly grateful.

I have my own story of survival, one that has unfolded over the last two years and one which is the very reason I am sat here today.

Ghostwritermummy was born just over a year ago in a desperate attempt to become a survivor. I was not in a happy place and I was in need of comfort. Ghostwritermummy was, at first, shy and self concious. She did not want people to read her private thoughts or to discover her inner demons. She wanted to pour out her fears, anxieties and darkness over the clean white screen and keep them there. She wanted to hide from the world and chose to do this behind a keyboard.

Over time, Ghostwritermummy learned that she was not alone. There were others like her who had suffered similar- and much, much worse- and who had come through it all. They called themselves survivors. Ghostwritermummy wanted to be a survivor too, but there were too many difficult days which forced her back into the darkness again and again. It was going to take something huge to get her into the light once more.

In the end it was something tiny that did it. Here she is:

This tiny little bundle has finally opened the doors for me. I now wear the survivor badge with pride. Ghostwritermummy has come full circle in so many ways.

Please pop over to Nickie’s blog, link up your own post and read the others. Use the hashtag #dosomethingyummy and get as many people involved as possible.

This week I am tagging:

Katetakes5 and Mummy Central. Hope you can join in!

I know that my journey has not been as difficult as many others but it is my journey, and my story of survival. Yes, I am a survivor.

12 responses to “#dosomethingyummy I am a survivor

Leave a Reply

