The fight continues

I’ve already blogged about my ‘fight’ for a c-section date for this pregnancy. Since last week, when the proposed new guidelines for c-sections were released by NICE, I seem to have been bombarded by other people’s opinions on the matter. I’ve written for iVillage about this and will post a link once the article is live. I’ve also chatted to other bloggers who are also  directly affected by this, and who also feel that they are being misunderstood. In the midst of it all, I was directed to this post, by one of the lovely members of the Birth Trauma Association’s Facebook group:  Don’t tell me I should’ve had a VBAC.

 

I can so relate to this post. Throughout my last pregnancy, I was told over and over again that I should try for a ‘natural’ birth and that I would regret it if I didn’t. I succumbed to the pressure to let nature lead me and I did not get any kind of emotional or psychological support in my reluctant decision. I wish I had had the guts to stand up for my planned section.

Today I called the hospital and spoke to a lovely midwife who has advised me of my next steps. I need to convince my consultant that I deserve an elective section. BUT…

why do I have to state my case like this? Why is my request for a c-section under such scrutiny? Money aside, what exactly has it got to do with the plethora of ridiculous commentators who have been spouting off about this all of a sudden? In the last week or so, many women (and some men) have been giving their two penneth worth about all of this. And why not? Being parents, they have a degree of knowledge in childbirth. Some may even have had a c-section themselves. But they have NOT had my experience (or that of another blogger who springs to mind) and they do not, therefore, have the right to judge.

Yes, a c-section costs more than a natural birth. How much does an emergency section cost? How much does birth trauma counselling cost? Anti-depressants? Repeat post-natal check ups?

The new guidelines aim to give women like me additional support in making a difficult decision. Please don’t think for a second that I don’t wish I could be in and out and back at home with my baby. Please don’t think I am ‘too posh to push’. Please don’t judge my needs on a monetary scale. Please listen to me and my reasons and accept that, for some women, a c-section is the best, most cost-efficient option of all.

12 responses to “The fight continues

  • Ramblings Of A Suburban Mummy

    I think that there are reasons why csections are the best, safest option for some people and it was true for me for my second child even though I wanted a natural birth. I was offered the choice but knew that the safest and best option for me and my baby was a csection.

    I do have reservations about csection without medical reason (mental or physical) though and for that reason I would say that allowing every woman the choice is inappropriate.

    • ghostwritermummy

      I can see where you’re coming from but I welcome the chance for ALL women to choose, medical or not. If a woman chooses to have a section, for whatever reason, it should be seriously considered and if there are grounds for concern then counselling should be offered. Thats what was missing for me last time XxX

  • SAHMlovingit

    I really hope you get what you want Suzanne. I had a c-section due to MC being breech and it will be interesting to see what my consultant says to me next week at my 20 week scan and whether they offer me one anyway this time. Keep demanding xxx

    • ghostwritermummy

      My first section was not due to medical reasons which is why they were reluctant to allow me to plan another. With a breech baby, I assume the same is applied. Its up to you to decide what you want but I would advise really researching an discussing your options. Whether you had a medical need or a traumatic birth, having had a previous section, I believe, puts strain on you when you consider childbirth options. Let me know how you go
      XxX

  • Tammy H

    Don’t back down from this. It is important as a parent to have peoples recognize your needs before dollars and cents. I am the mother of three (2 natural and 1 section) and if I would have known how much stress, pain and trauma could have been prevented by having a c-section I would have had three of them.

    My first 2 deliveries, while short, resulted in terrible ripping and a long list of other issues that resulted in weeks of recovery time will my third babay was a c section and by the next day I felt great and I even felt good enough when I went home to take care of my 2 and 4 year olds right away.

    I spent months dreading the after effects of another natural birth and thank god my doctor listened to my concerns and allowed me to make the choice.

    Keep up the fight.

    • ghostwritermummy

      Thanks so much for this. So many people keep telling me that a c-section recovery is a lot worse than a ‘natural’ delivery but after my first section I was up and about a lot quicker than the poor girl in the bed opposite who had 27 stitches you know where. The second time was different as I was covered in bruises due to the emergency nature but I expect a planned section to be different again. I just don’t want to go through another trial of labour, just to ‘fail’ again. Thanks again
      XxX

  • Karin @ Cafe Bebe

    Bless your cotton socks. I’m so sorry you’ve been struggling with getting the powers that be to hear you. It’s not right that we have to prepare a presentation in order to be considered for what will, most certainly, be the best option for both you and your baby. I’ve got a post up today explaining my reasons as well. It is such a shame that we have to defend ourselves in such a way. Be strong, prepare your “case” and get in there & get what you need!

    Much love & hugs to you sweetie!
    Karin

  • Honest Mum

    Two very informative and down right utterly correct posts about the right (medically and socially) to be entitled to a C section with regards to your history. The Posh phenomenon (which in her case was originally an emergency C section apparently) has quite frankly done a lot of damage to the image of the Caesarian. I for one had an emergency C section and am so glad I did. Yes it’s hard, the recovery is slow (physically and emotionally) but my son is here, safe and sound and sadly that very well might not have been the case without it. Go forth, demand the C section. It’s your right.

Leave a Reply

