Back to School

Back to school. Yes, I know its late, but I like to keep ahead of the fashion pack, so its fashionably late, okay?

Back to school has always had a mixed response in my house. For a long time, I hated the month of September because of all the Back to School nonsense. I hated the fact that the summer was over and all you had to look forward to was months and months of school. I hated having to ‘get back to school hours’ and go to bed early. I hated going shopping for new school shoes and I hated having my hair washed on a Sunday night. I hated new pencil cases and clean jotter pads and I hated new lunch boxes and stiff juice bottles. I hated new PE kits and new school bags and I hated having to go BACK TO SCHOOL.

As an adult, my hatred for September continued and my stomach would always sink at the ‘Back to School’ adverts in shop windows and on television. So, what did I do? I became a teacher.

Now back to school means something slightly different. First, it means oh my goodness, school is back already? I thought I had ages to get all that work done… and then it means oh my goodness, I will never learn all of their names in time!

When my daughter started school, September meant oh my goodness my baby is all grown up!

The big one is enjoying her homework this year!

Now, back to school is no less stressful but slightly more enjoyable. I am the teacher and the parent. I can make back to school as fun as possible for my own child and for those in my class. Back to school means the chance to flex your creative muscles a little and take on a new challenge once more. But was I excited?

Yes! This year I went back into year one, my preferred age group. My daughter went into year two, and that’s her preferred year group by all accounts. This is the first year that she has really settled straight away and has looked forward to going to school! In fact, when we were stranded in Atlanta at the end of August a well-meaning (grrr) woman kindly told the big one that there were so many people stranded that we might not make it back to the UK in time for school to start. The big one burst into tears.

I think the big one was the most excited to go back to school this year. She’s even excited about her homework- as long as there are chocolate milkshakes to keep the inspiration flowing! oh my goodness, I hope it stays that way!

The toddler is just glad for a bit of peace and quiet!

2 responses to “Back to School

Leave a Reply

