Cybermummy: Things I learned

I read a really interesting post on Emily’s blog, Babyrambles, entitled Do You Want to be a Better Blogger? It struck a chord with me, especially after attending Cybermummy and after reading this post from one of my favourites, Him Up North, entitled Why Do I Blog? Him Up North answers his question with “I don’t know anymore…” and I think he may just be summing it up for a lot of bloggers at the moment. Please read these two posts.

Cybermummy was an amazing event to attend and I am eternally grateful to Kiddy for sending me. I was so privileged to hear from Sarah Brown, Sian, Liz and Rosie in particular and I have taken away so much from the day. Here are the things I learned:

1. I don’t want my blog to become a PR’s dream. I purposefully didn’t attend any of the sessions that were focused on making money from blogging, using SEO or marketing my brand. I am not condemning these sessions at all. I just didn’t find them appealing and now I realise it is because I want different things from my blog.

2. I don’t want my blog to become my job. A few months ago, I would’ve said the exact opposite. I told my husband I would love to get paid to do this, and be able to live off the money. You know what? I just don’t have that competitive edge right now. I want to be able to post what is in my head, in my own words and with genuine passion. That’s not to say I won’t post reviews on products that excite me (I have one itching to be written) and that’s not to say I don’t appreciate the PR contact I’ve had already. I just feel, like many others (Him Up North mainly) that I want to get back to basics. I already have a job I love, that pays the bills fine.

3. I want my blog to continue to make a difference to my life. Writing about the toddler’s birth and all that came with it and after it has been an enormous help for me. Writing has always and will always be my first passion and the one thing I will always love to do. But the reason why I loved writing so much has always been the fact that I can do it in silence. My words are my voice and nobody really needs to see me. Attending Cybermummy made me feel a little vulnerable, to tell the truth. It was almost as though my cloak had been lifted before I had chance to perfect my make-up.

4. I wany my blog to make a difference. Yes, yes- I want it all to myself but I want people to get something from it too. Jayne and I were totally inspired by the session on how to become a blogger activist and I would be lying if I said it hadn’t totally changed my focus, both here and on Maternity Matters. We have plans for Maternity Matters. I have things happening right now that will affect ghostwritermummy.

Cybermummy has been a massive learning curve but I have a feeling its been on the cards for a while. For now, I’m going to take a leaf out of Emily’s book when she says “Why I do not want to change how I blog? Well because how I blog at the moment is me. It’s personal and reflects who I am. I don’t want to analyse or think about it too much. I want to write and hit ‘publish’.” Well said.

image source: inthestands.co.uk

9 responses to “Cybermummy: Things I learned

  • Michelloui | The American Resident

    Yes, yes, and yes. I agree with all of this. Blogging can be such a fantastic, creative outlet can’t it? It doesn’t have to be anything to do with PRs but if a bit of money comes from it, hurrah! and if my blog touches someone somewhere, then double hurrah! My favourite part about blogging? Connecting to others.

    Good post 🙂

  • Emily O

    Thanks very much for the link and the quote too *very flattered*. I think it’s easy to be drawn down the road of thinking we need to improve all the time and it’s good to take a step back and remember what you’re about. It’s definitely important to follow your own ideas too and you do that already based on your own experiences and have carved out your own niche. I think tips and advice can help but some people probably want them more than others.

  • Him Up North

    Thank you for the mention, Susanne. I’m glad my post struck a chord with you. I would support 110% everything you’ve written – although I can’t comment on Cybermummy as I didn’t attend.

    This is very much a declaration of independence. Oh, wrong date. Darn…

  • mrsshortie

    I love this post – its made me realise that it is ok to be just me, and not worry about anyone who is getting more involved in social media and getting more visits.

    X

  • MrsBellers

    totally agree with you. I don’t review products- not just because I am new to blogging but sometimes feel like it could be disappointing like opening up your favourite magazine to find it filled with just adverts and no real life!

Leave a Reply

