If I could, I would

If I could hold you in my arms ’til the day I die, I would. If I could keep you here, now, by my side, I would. If you could be my shadow, forever under my feet and in my dreams, I know I would sleep each night with a smile on my lips. If I knew that you would always need me, always call for me and always expect me to be behind every door, inside every cupboard… if I could always be your everything, I would.

One day, you won’t need me. One day it will be someone else you call for when you’re hurt or when you’re scared. One day, it won’t be me that comes to you when the tears are falling andyour heart is breaking. One day, someone else will have my job. If I could keep it, I would.

If I knew that every time I turned around you would be dancing in my shadows, I’d laugh. If I knew that each time I glanced down, your little fingers would be clutching at my leg, my heart would sing! If I knew that all of this would last forever…

You see, I’ve been here before. I know the most important thing I can do for you is to let you go- slowly, bit by bit. You will go from me. You’ll get too big for my arms and too busy to climb into my lap. If I could keep this moment forever, I would.

One response to “If I could, I would

Leave a Reply

