Life Offline

I have a feeling this might strike a chord with some bloggers out there. I’ve had a little forced break from my online life and I have to say that it was quite exhilirating. A number of factors sent me to offline chaos this week and Blogger being down wasn’t one of them. Now, I know that so many of you were rightly angry and/ or annoyed about Blogger‘s so-called #fail on Friday (was it Friday?) but it was Nickie‘s comment on Facebook that really made me smile. I hope she won’t mind me summarising her words: Get a grip.

I mean that in the nicest way but  I guess I ought to explain. Yes, Blogger being down was a massive pain in the neck for some of you but what Nickie was actually trying to say was that in all the time she has been blogging with them, they have NEVER ever been down before. I’d like to add to that very valid point by saying: life offline is actually rather nice, now and then.

This week, I spent approximately three million hours on the phone to Sky (in twenty minute slots, I might add) because we have been losing our internet connection and being asked repeatedly for a password etc. It turned out that our modem needed to be closer to the phone socket, doh! But being offline was actually liberating. I re-discovered yoga and was thrilled at the fact that I can still get my legs behind my head. It’s not a good look but I can do it, damn it! I also discovered how nice it is to have a tidy house. Not that it lasted for long, but still. We went for walks, I emptied the ironing basket. We did homework, we made mosaics and we constructed a playhouse in the garden. In short, life offline has been really productive.

Internet connections aren’t the only reason why my laptop has started to gather dust. The baby has not been well and has started sleeping for twenty minute stretches at night again. The medication probably needs changing or dosages need tweaking. Also, I went out on Friday- with real people and without kids or husbands. We saw Ghost the musical and the entire evening was spent with my phone tucked away. Which brings me to my final point…

My phone. I have often said that I can’t live without my phone and actually had a nightmare recently where I dropped it into the sea and there were unread emails on there and everything *shudder*. Then I went swimming today and left my phone at home and never even thought about it once. It’s still sitting upstairs, winking at me and begging me to pick it up and resume our love affair. I’m not going to. I’m going to enjoy one last day of this life offline, before it all begins again. And so all that remains is to say sorry if you’re waiting for an email or I was supposed to text you or I never replied to your messages. I do still love you all but I’ve been doing some real life stuff. So that I can blog about it.

image source: mysynergyproject.com

4 responses to “Life Offline

Leave a Reply

