Saying goodbye to the baby years

As my son takes steps that are more solid and his lips form words previously unspoken; as my daughter learns about the wonders of nailvarnish and develops the ability to beat me at Scrabble… as the years pass in the blink of an eye and the skip of the heart… I have to say goodbye.

I have to say goodbye to the baby years, the days filled with mummy and the nights filled with calpol. Not yet, but soon. Tomorrow.

I’ve come to realise that all I was ever supposed to do was to be their mother. Looking into a future without them is no future at all.

When the nappies are gone and the blankets are folded; when the stair gates open for the last time; when the delicious sounds of a baby’s laughter has faded into the distance… that’s when I’ll say goodbye.

Until then my days will be filled with sticky fingers pulling at my skirt and smeary handprints decorating my mirrors. Until then, may my nights be filled with tiny coughs and bellowing yells,  pleas for drinks and demands for stories. May my weekends pass in a blur of gymnastics, swimming, parks and parties. May the weeks fill the calendar with play dates and school fetes and toddle waddles and all. May the years pass by, but slowly. May they always be my babies.

4 responses to “Saying goodbye to the baby years

  • TheBoyandMe

    That’s such a fantastic post, and quite emotional too. I feel exactly the same way, let’s treasure the leaky nappies, the shrieks of laughter as you ‘flobble’ their tummy, the cries of ‘uppy, uppy’ and not wish their tike away.

  • Carole

    What a beautiful and emotional post! Enjoy every second, it goes so very quickly 😦 x

    I sometimes long for the days when my boys were tucked up in bed at 7pm and I had that warm cosy feeling that they were safe and all was good with the world.

    The teenage years are fraught with such worries – drugs, alcohol, safe sex these are just a few of the issues you have to discuss and be aware of when your children grow up. My boys are good Kids but still you worry…give me the baby years any day! x

  • Janet

    Beautiful post. Made me tear up a little, and my girl is only 4 months.

  • Becky

    One of the most beautiful posts that I have read! Noa will be 5 months tomorrow already and I’m feeling the same, so I am trying to make the most of each day. It was a big shock to meet a mother recently whom has a 10 week old daughter – wow – Noa used to be that tiny!! It’s difficult sometimes to accept how quick they grow and change.

Leave a Reply

