Little Possums and Patapum- a very special review

I’m incredibly lucky. The wonderful people at Little Possums and Patapum sent me a fabulous Patapum baby carrier to review and I have to say that this is one review that has really had me excited. It’s a special review because, to me, baby wearing is so important to my son and I and our relationship- so writing this has been a bit of an emotional episode for me.
I’ve written before about the benefits of baby wearing and for those of you out there who have researched it or already know, the pros far outweigh any potential cons. I don’t believe there are any cons, actually.

image source: http://www.patapum.eu/ Piccies of the baby and I to follow!!

It has been proven that wearing a newborn baby can help with motor skills, bonding, confidence and a whole host of other important development skills. Baby wearing can calm, soothe and even heal- for more, you can read my article, Sling it Baby! which I wrote for Little P Baby Store.

My baby isn’t a newborn anymore. He outgrew our sling at around twelve months. In that twelve months of babywearing, we developed our bond. Originally a practical tool due to his reflux and needing to keep him upright, the sling quickly became an essential time saver on the school run. And then it became an excellent way of moving through crowds without bashing ankles. We hoovered, we gardened, we walked , we paced, we lived. Together. After a traumatic birth and real problems bonding, my son and I used the sling as a tool to just be together. Having him close to me may well have sealed our bond in the end.

With this in mind, you can see why I was upset to find that, at sixteen months, my back was starting to hurt with the sling. But the baby still likes to be carried. Enter the Patapum.

This was recommended to me by several babywearers and I have to say that when it arrived I felt a little daunted by the straps and so on. My sling had been so easy to use (and has now gone to a friend who is expecting, no instructions needed!) so this seemed like a new challenge. After a couple of dummy runs with one of the big one’s teddies, we were ready. Well, I was. The baby, it seems, had different ideas. He likes to run, you see. Particularly when we ask him to come here…

When you start out with a new carrier, it’s important to do so when baby is in a good mood. I know that now. When he wants to crawl around looking for small things to put in his mouth, he is in no mood to try a new carrier. Well, that’s my experience anyway.

So I waited. And when we did get to trial the Patapum, I walked to the mirror to check it was on properly (didn’t think it would be that easy) and the baby was delighted to see himself in his new carrier. We pranced around the house for a bit before deciding to brave the great outdoors. The baby LOVES being outside and tends to get very excited. In the Patapum was no exception. At adult height I guess he could see so much more! Lots of face slapping later (his slapping, not mine) and we returned home to deliver the verdict- no aching back!!

Our next step is to try the piggy back position, which I feel is going to be fab when we go away in August.

To me, the Patapum is an extension of the journey the baby and I have been travelling since his birth. He loves to be close to me, more so than the big one ever did. Perhaps a result of his traumatic birth? For me, definitely. The sling more or less saved our relationship and I have a feeling the Patapum is going to carry on this work. So now you see why this was such a special review for me.

I’d like to express the most heart-felt of thanks to both Little Possums and who donated the Patapum carrier to me. I would also like to request for more babywearing stories, particularly with a link to improving the bond with you and your baby- perhaps after a traumatic birth. Maternity Matters will be running a feature related to this and so your contributions, as always, would be extremely appreciated. You can either leave a comment here or mail me at susanne@maternitymatters.net.

Lastly, please go and visit Little Possums and Patapum. They rock!

2 responses to “Little Possums and Patapum- a very special review

  • Mother Badger

    I am a big fan of baby-wearing. When Baby Badger was born she was on the small side and then lost some weight, and she was a couple of pounds too light for our Baby Bjorn. I had also bought a Moby wrap and it was an absolute godsend. Once I had worked out how to tie the hug hold, I took her everywhere in it: we went to parties and even the local beerfest (obviously with me on very limited alcohol!) and she happily slept through it all, wrapped cosily against my chest.

    Now, at 20lb, I still carry her in my Moby and it’s still comfy for hours!

  • Maternity Matters » Babywearing- helping the bond between parent and child

    […] Little Possums and Patapum sent me a gorgeous blue Patapum carrier to review. I blogged about it on ghostwritermummy and it led me to really think about the benefits of babywearing, particularly after a traumatic […]

Leave a Reply

