The Gallery- Simple Pleasures


Tara at Sticky Fingers has challenged us to post a picture on the theme of Simple Pleasures. I asked the big one what things she has enjoyed doing with me and her first answer was baking. We don’t do it often, since I am terrble at it and she loses interest so quickly. But when she was little we seemed to have a little more time and we baked quite a lot. I loved being able to take my time with her, let her get her hands right into the mixture and experience new textures, tastes and smells. I loved seeing her face light up as buns magically rose in the oven and turned from gloop to cake. I LOVED the simplicity of crispie cakes. The good old crispie cake is underated in my opinion. They are so easy for kids to get involved with and they taste YUMMY. Just see this picture and you will see what I mean. I jsut wish I had more time for such simple pleasures these days. Perhaps I just need to make it.

6 responses to “The Gallery- Simple Pleasures

  • Mummy and the Beastie

    Ooh they look good, feel like making some now!

  • Jenny paulin

    I don’t underestimate the humble chocolate crispy cake, it’s a great simple pleasure to both make and eat! Lovely photo too. Shame I don’t have any rice crisps in the house, as I could just eat one now 🙂

  • Mañana Mama

    That is super-cute, what a great capture of a beautiful little girl! That’s precisely how I behave with crispie cake batter too. Few things more fun than baking sweets with the kiddies, must agree with you two there.

  • Sarah

    I was just thinking of making some of these today. Were they good? x

  • Him Up North

    I am always available for taste tests and licking of bowl and utensils. Just saying…

  • Li-ling Ooi

    Yummy! We too went through a phase of not baking and G asked at the weekend if we could make some fairy cakes, which we did. I have found it easier now that she’s that bit older.
    When she was younger, I used to do the cake bit myself, but lay out all the colourful decorations for her to put on. If I couldn’t be asked to make icing, nutella was a yummy, very quick fall back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

