The Gallery- Children

This week Tara at Sticky Fingers is challenging us to do a gallery post on the theme of children. After all, thats why most of us are blogging anyway; makes perfect sense.

This photo was taken in 1981, I think. I am about four years old, on the right. My big sister is by my side, throwing snow in the air in such a fashion only children can get right. Its the perfect combination of happiness, excitement and dodgy flairs. Oh, and it has bobble hats to die for…
The reason I chose this photo is because I remember nothing about the day it was taken. I can’t remember playing in the snow that day, or having my picture taken, or that hideous matching coat… just as well really, for the coat at least. I chose it because I wish I COULD remember that day. I look like a child that does not have many worries in the world. I look like a child that has snow to play in and as long as I can do that, I’m happy. Thats what the world should be like for chidren.

Having children hurts. Not just physically, although one should never underestimate the pain of accidental head butts and early morning hair pulling. Having children is excruciatingly painful on your emotions too. You can’t always be with them when they fall and scrape their knees and that hurts. You can’t always be with them when they fall out with their ‘best friend’. You can’t always be with them when they can’t find anyone to play with in the playground. You can’t always be with them when they say they want to be alone in their bedrooms and you don’t know why. Later on, you can’t be with them when they experience their first broken heart, or their first nerve-wracking job interview. You can’t always be with them when they make a mistake or when they need a hug. You have to let them figure all of this out for themselves. And that hurts.

I hope that I will be there for my children for all of that stuff as much as I can be and I hope that my children can be like the me in this picture for a little bit longer too.

18 responses to “The Gallery- Children

Leave a Reply

