More Reasons to be Cheerful!

Reasons to be Cheerful at Mummy with a Heart

A day late but in the spirit of keeping cheerful, I had to join in with Michelle at Mummy From The Heart and her fab Reasons To Be Cheerful! SO here are my reasons this week:

1. For the first time since returning to work from maternity leave, I have experienced a sense of job satisfaction and actually feel like I am good for something- other than being a mummy of course.
As a teacher, you are never part time, even if you only appear in school on a part time basis. I am constantly on the look out for good lesson ideas, quirky prizes, colourful stickers and so on. I am also constantly planning for my two days, marking, assessing and stressing. It is a highly pressured job and I have to say that teaching full time seems like a ridiculous notion at the moment. So, having the baby who doesn’t sleep has made my job satisfaction levels a little wanting, to say the least. Oh, I have had excellent lesson observations- my first ever outstanding back in November, but that was for a poetry lesson and I don’t feel I really challenged myself with that one. HOWEVER over the last couple of weeks the kids in my class have been learning about fractions *shudder* and they even had to learn from my plans!! Maths and I go way back and it has never been an amicable relationship. We hate each other. But yesterday, slogging our way through finding fractions of numbers and finding that suddenly, the group of ‘those who can’ was massively out-numbering the group of ‘those who can’t’ I found myself thinking- my goodness they get it!! The kids in my class have worked SO hard and their faces said it all. Oh and the exclamations of ‘Miss, I get it now!’ helped too. Job satisfaction, that’s what that is!

2. My sister and her family live out in Queensland and- mercifully- they have managed to keep dry and safe, with only powercuts to show for the awful devastation around them. I can’t tell you how relieved I am that the flood waters are receeding now.

3. Bit of a self-indulgent one this but I’m going to write it anyway. My final reason to be cheerful is you guys! I have long since known the power of the virtal friendship and while I am sensibly cautious in my online friendships (no offense, I expect you to be the same too!) I have honestly met some wonderful people! From people I met whilst trying to conceive, throuugh my pregnancy and now since blogging- you are all so fab! I have to say, there is something comforting about being up at 3,4, 5am and being able to ‘chat’ to someone. Allbeit online- it’s still company! Since blogging I’ve ‘met’ some amazing people and had some awesome comments- so thank you!

So those are my reasons to be cheerful this week. If you’d like to join in, pop over to Mummy From The Heart and link up! I can’t wait to read some more!

9 responses to “More Reasons to be Cheerful!

Leave a Reply

