My 2010

So, time to reflect on the year that has been. It’s been a challenging year but I don’t want to sit here and say I’m glad to see the back of it, etc etc, because in 2010 I met my son and that will always make it a fabulous year. I prefer to think of 2010 as an extremely important journey, stopping at some ropey places en-route to the nice places. These are the most important parts of the year for me:

1. By the end of the year there were no more tearful (alright then, near-hysterical) phone calls to the poor, unsuspecting husband at work. By the end of the year, he managed to do a full day at the office every day in a week, without me ringing to say that I can’t cope. Leading on to number 2…
2. By the end of the year, I no longer found myself exclaiming “I used to think I was good at this!” and rather, found self-congratulating musings of “Phew. I’m good at this again!” being bandied around. It all started around the time of number 3…
3. Around the middle of the year we finally got the doctors to agree that there is something not quite right about our baby. Not being fobbed off has been a HUGE achievment and by the end of the year we have actually had appointments through for testing! Hooray!
My biggest achievment of the year is number 4. Tastes good.
4. I started to write again. For so long, the ME I used to like had been pushed to the side, stressed out with a constantly screaming baby, a job I dreaded returning to and a traumatic event that seemed to be defining me a little too much. Finding the courage to take on some freelance writing and starting this blog has brought ME back to my life and yes, I am a mum mainly but I am now also ME again. Phew.
2010 was certainly a bumpy ride and I have a feeling 2011 will be a little turbulent too. But that’s life and that’s how I became the ME I am proud to be today. So, finally, I’m raising a virtual glass to all my brand, spanking new blogging friends becasuse with the help of those lovely ladies (and a couple of blokes) a new, exciting, funny, emotional and rewarding world has been opened up.

Bring on 2011!

4 responses to “My 2010

Leave a Reply

