A Special mention to my fabulous mummy Friends

As we go into the new year, I suppose lots of us start to look back and to ponder over the year that has passed… wow. So much has happened this year that its really hard NOT to find myself saying ‘this time last year…’ So here goes.

This time last year…
We had no heating or hot water, in the middle of the worse snowfall I ever remember seeing. True, we had a beautiful winter wonderland right outside our front door, but we also had a three week old baby and were trying to bathe in an inch of hot water from the kettle. I spent most of New Year’s Eve crouched by the bathtub in tears.

I was in terrific emotional and physical pain following the birth of my son and struggling to bond with the screaming, inconsolable bundle we brought home from the hospital. I couldn’t talk about the birth without crying and yet I wanted to talk about it ALL the time. It’s all I thought about, dreamt about and cried about. Which leads me on to the real reason for my post. My friends.

I did the whole baby group thing this time around, mainly because I didn’t feel I would cope being in the house on my own with the baby. I knew I needed support. I forced myself to attend baby group- on my own, get me!- and I made some wonderful friends. I forced myself to get in touch with an old uni friend who was still around and had had a little girl a month before I had my boy. I forged friendships and support groups online. I met up with old friends I hadn’t seen for months. I think my friends saved me. Without these people, I don’t know if I would have a smile as big as I do today. I’ve cried, I’ve laughed, I’ve been angry and I’ve been sad. I’ve grieved over things that happened and I’ve fallen apart, into little pieces. And my friends have picked me up again and put me back together like a jigsaw puzzle. I think there are some edge pieces missing, but its all there in the midle where it counts and that’s all down to them. So…

This New Year’s Eve, I will be raising a glass to the people who have been there for me this year, despite their own crappy problems and their own bits of life they needed to deal with. I’ll be thinkning of all my new, old, rediscovered, virtual and casual mummy friends- without them, I would still be that puzzle with the most important piece missing. With them, I make sense. Thanks, ladies. Mwah! XxX

Leave a Reply

