Made to be broken?

The Friday Club

I always thought that New Year’s resolutions were made to be broken and so I always half-heartedly made them and then broke them. These days, I still think that New Year’s resolutions are made to be broken- well, most of them are, anyway. With the most difficult year of my life drawing to an end, it doesn’t seem right not to have learnt anything from it or to simply move into the next year without even considering things that I can change, being who I am now. So I’m dividing my resolutions. The first part will be resolutions I can make easily and therefore disregard easily once I get back into the swing of post-Christmas life. The second part will be the ones that I have actually considered and think will make real changes to my life. These are the important ones; one I will try to keep and assess why I couldn’t. These are the ones I won’t beat myself up over.
PART ONE:
1. Be more organised. Its no longer acceptable to boot myself and the kids out of the door two minutes before we have to leave, knowing that getting all the bags and bodies into the car will take much longer than that.
2. Eat three meals a day. Ok, sometimes breakfast is not an option (see number 1) and there is rarely time for lunch given the fact I have to prepare at least four different meals before the baby will eat anything and then its nap time. BUT its becoming clear that a crumpet is no fit meal for a busy mum or a working man once the kids are in bed.
3. Stop making excuses. See number 2.
4. Stop biting my nails. Yeah, right.
5. Encourage E to do her homework. Yeah, right. She’s in year one and yes, I know that as a teacher I should be on top of this. But, like I said, she’s in year one for goodness sake! Homework, shomework. What happened to being a kid? Save the homework for GCSEs.
6. Tidy up more. But two kids and a tidy house really don’t go together well. Also, see number 3.
7. Drink less coffee. I will do this once the baby starts to sleep.
8. Stop pining for another baby. Time will tell. Pregnancy makes me sick, labour hurts, newborn babies cry more than the one I have. Be patient. See number 9.
9. Be patient. Hmm.
10. Look at the things I write on the calendar and try to be on time more. Is it still fashionable to be late?
PART TWO.
This needs more consideration. If its ok, I will add part two when I have chance to think clearly. At the moment, I have three piles of washing to do, nails to bite and coffee to drink. Oh, and I’m running late for something I’mn sure I was meant to do but its not on the calendar…

18 responses to “Made to be broken?

Leave a Reply

