The Evil Santa head

We’re spending Chistmas at my parent’s house and it is filled with a variety of singing, shaking, dancing, jingling festive characters that I had to blog about because they are invading my life right now!! Everything is so LOUD!!
I love Christmas at my parents. I grew up here. I helped to construct the conservatory; I got housemaid’s knee from grouting the tiled floor. I’ve seen the rooms evolve from classic seventies swirled carpets to sleek, modern wooden sheens. I’ve seen woodchip walls change into gaudy wallpaper designs and then fresh, clean paint. The bathroom, once olive green and fluffy carpets, now sparkles white and bright and echoes when you talk. But this is the house that I still call home, years and years after I left to be an adult with my own house and my own things. So being here at Christmas means the world to me; not only is this house full of memories but its also houses my family and that’s what makes it so special. BUT it also houses these awful yuletide yobs that keep singing and shouting and JINGLING.
The worst culprit of them all is the grotesque decapitated Santa head that is activated by the slightest sound. It shudders violently, it shrieks HO HO HO! MERRY CHRISTMAS! at the top of its voice and then starts to sing Jingle Bells whilst jingling its bells. It’s horrible. For the first three years E was terrified but now this year she LOVES it. L doesn’t. It’s a true battle of wills and I’m on L’s side. I want to hide the Evil Santa head but I have visions of it re-appearing like Chucky. Today the Evil Santa head was set off thanks to an illicit cracker pulling session in the next room. It woke the baby and raised my stress levels a little further. Grrr.
But as I type I’ve started to realise something. If an evil Santa head is the only thing getting my goat right now, then things can’t be so bad. Lots of families get together at Christmas and spend the whole time arguing and wishing they were elsewhere. Me, I’m biting my tongue and dancing along to Jingle Bells because I’ve got everything I want right here this year and no amount of Evil Santa heads will change that.
MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYBODY!!!!!!!

EVIL Santa head

2 responses to “The Evil Santa head

Leave a Reply

