Slugs, snails, puppy dog tails…

What makes a boy a boy? Here’s my boy:

He’s playing with one of his new toys. A JCB. But who told him to? I mean, with his sister’s toys littered throughout thr house at a slightly higher ratio than his own, why does he choose a digger to play with over a doll? True, he often plays with the Zhu Zhu pets and has a rabbet blanket thingy he sleeps with that has a *little* bit of pink on it… but still. He acts like a boy, too.

He’s physical. He climbs (so did his sister) and he fights (so did his siter) and he doesn’t cry when he bumps into things or falls over (NOT like his sister). He’s just different. He’s a boy. We aren’t doing anything different in terms of parenting, but perhaps we are treatiing him differently. I mean, we don’t paint his toe nails but then we rarely paint our daughter’s either. He’s just a boy and a complete mystery at times (I have 4 sisters).
So, in honour of my “strange” boy, I’ve written this in the style of the books he so loves. I must add that this was not my idea originally. I saw it on Hot Cross Mum ‘s fab blog. Couldn’t resist.

That’s not my boy
His face is too clean!
That’s not my boy
His socks are still on!
That’s not my boy
His cries are too soft!
That’s not my boy
He slept all night!
That’s not my boy
His dinner plate is empty!
That’s not my boy
My heart didn’t miss a beat!

That’s my boy!
His kisses are so sweet!

The End.

3 responses to “Slugs, snails, puppy dog tails…

  • Honest Mum

    Great poem and we love those books too from it’s not my teddy to goodness knows what. My baby is the same-boys will be boys huh! My Mum incidentally said when my brother was little she ensured no toy guns were ever bought for him-what did he do? He picked up anything and everything and would play shoot with it. Go figure!

  • theonlylooninthevillage

    Isn’t it weird how we treat them the same yet boys r indeed boyish and girls r girlie! H gravates to boys toys automatically loves cars and anything loud where as my girls loved dolls and hated loud things!
    One of lifes many mysteries!
    xx

  • Hot Cross Mum

    Lovely post and a great version of the ‘That’s Not My…’ books. Thank you for linking into me too. x

Leave a Reply

