My baby is nine weeks old

How time flies and how little you notice its effects. Until someone points them out to you, that is.

The baby was weighed this week during her 8 week check. She is now a whopping 9lb13! She surprises me. She was the smallest of all three at birth and yet she has gained weight quicker than either of them. Going from 5lb13 at 3 days old, to 6lb8 at ten days is no mean feat! To then go from that to 8lb at 1 month…

Actually, when I think about it, I’m not all that surprised, really. The baby is still feeding on average every 2-3 hours during the day and every 2 hours at night. God bless co-sleeping! Luckily, she settles really well after each feed so I can’t really complain.

It’s amazing how quickly other things become apparent after having a baby too. Like, how rubbish is statutory maternity pay? Yes, I am lucky to get anything at all but seriously- we are scraping the barrel here. I took the option of just statutory as the future of my job is uncertain and I didn’t want to be faced with a huge bill if I was unable to return to work. This way, if I do go back I get a lump sum so it’s something at least.

Which leads me on to another wonderful thing. Friends. And hand me down clothes. We have not bought a single thing for the baby since the going home outfits (which still fit by the way!) because people have been so kind. I’ve done my bit too, I’ve donated clothes to other friends who’ve also recently had babies. But the generosity of others has really astounded me lately- and its not just the baby who has been kitted out, either. The big one and the toddler have also received some amazing items too.

So how do you make the pennies stretch whilst on maternity leave? I’d love some ideas please!

Other highlights at this age for the baby include the fact that she is now really looking at faces and smiling voluntarily. I totally forgot how awesome it feels when your baby smiles at you.

3 responses to “My baby is nine weeks old

  • Tina Bailey (@TheMotherGeek)

    I am thanking god for Mat Allowance this time! I got nothing with Sam & our savings disappeared completely. I developed an obsession with price comparison & discount codes. I used http://wevu.co.uk for most of it. I also realised how free activities were critical to keeping us sane. The Library, Sure Start & baby groups became the norm for us, as did coffee mornings with other mummy friends. We’d take turns at each other’s houses to keep costs down. The hostess provided coffee & toys for the babies, the guests brought cake. I’m looking forward to lots of picnics in the park too if the weather ever picks up.

  • Mummy Central (@Mummy_Central)

    Awww she is gorgeous. Wish I had some tips for you, but it’s been so long since I was on maternity leave. Glad she’s thriving, and you’re enjoying her. Donna x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

